top of page

I Think I May Still Need Another Holiday

Now before the haters start hating and the ones who like to judge start being 'judgey', just hear me out. I have not been on leave or on a holiday for more than 3 days or a weekend getaway for over 4 years now. So, to say that I feel so grateful and truly blessed to have taken this time with my family is an understatement. A full 10 days away with my family, as a family for the very first time has been incredible and allowed us to spend time with our little humans that we have never before and make memories we couldn’t have ever imagined.

As you would’ve seen from my pics and stories, we came for our very first beach holiday at my absolute most favourite place; Ballito. I came to this exact house when I was little with my parents and cousins and I got to grow up coming here, now I’ve been able to bring my family and children.

The other major cherry on top of this trip was that my mom came down with us. Our full extended family of 5 together on a holiday. #ultimate

Hubby (which for my blog I think I will start referring to as Pappa Bear – sure he will love that) drove down and took everything but the kitchen sink and my mom and I flew down with the girls.


Neither one of us could bear 7 hours with them in the car, they are not very car experienced and do not handle long trips well so I was prepared to take my chances with an hour flight.


When we arrived at our home away from home in Ballito after Pappa Bear picked us up, the house was fully baby-proofed. Where the dining table and chairs were usually home to, was now the girl's little table and chairs, their new little playroom. Everything was moved around to provide the girls with the ideal space to play and keep themselves busy.


I promise I didn’t ask for this to be done, we were all pleasantly surprised to see such a baby-friendly approach when we arrived. He did that all on this own.


The incredibly naïve side of me was still under some illusion that this would be a holiday where I would return back to reality, back to work, fully rested and rejuvenated. Boy oh boy was I wrong.


In the past, we would’ve been able to sleep in till whatever time our bodies decided was time to get up. There is no chance of that happening with two little humans who don’t exactly believe in sleeping in.


The most obvious one, tanning. Who was I kidding? In the past, I would’ve made sure even suntanning on either side to get an even (line-free) tan. Not a chance my friend. Two tiny little busybodies that either have zero fear in the ocean, so you have to literally foresee their every move. Or two little bodies that aren’t sure about anything, and only want mom and dad with them 24/7.


In the past being able to just swim and float around in the pool was my ultimate. I am a true water baby. No ways your time in the pool now is swimming with them. Which I just want to add, has been the highlight of the trip for me, even though I have missed that time to myself in the pool, experiencing this with them has been just amazing.


Not having a single plan or outing planned because quite frankly either tanning, swimming, sleeping or just chilling was enough, is not the case when you have little children under 2. You make sure if the weather is awful you have some plan b’s to turn to, to keep them busy or even if the weather is great, you need to make sure you have meals, snacks, nap time and bath time planned or at least thought of, for each day.


Yes, it may sound selfish but we are all exhausted and could do with a holiday after this trip. Some days were more than challenging when the girls both decided that they would work against anything we tried to do. Many times getting Pappa Bear and I at each other’s throats from being tired and equally frustrated. The days were busy busy busy and you can’t stop for a minute. When they were finally bathed and fast asleep, I was exhausted and majority of the time fell asleep on the couch. Then add teething to the mix and my little Gisela getting fevers at the end of the trip and the nights aren’t so promising either.


So yes, I am exhausted, I would’ve loved to have slept longer, and had more sleep. I would’ve loved to have gotten an even tan. I would’ve loved to have just done whatever I wanted when I wanted.

Would I take back this time, NEVER EVER, without hesitation.


Was this possibly the greatest holiday I have been on – absolutely! I cannot believe how the girls have grown right before my eyes in these 10 days, how they have blossomed and come into their own. How they are interacting with one another, how they have learnt so many new words and understand every single little thing I say to them. How they have become so affectionate and so loving and caring to one another even more so and to us.


Would I do it again?

In a heartbeat and for even longer if I could. I may be physically and mentally exhausted, but my heart and soul have never been so full.


xx


64 views0 comments
bottom of page