top of page

Double the Bags, Double the Love, One Big Adventure: Getting My Twins Ready for Grade R

The last few months have been incredibly overwhelming for me, a lot of this anxiety, I am sure is self-inflicted and wasn’t 100% necessary, but I have just felt that how they start their first years of school is quite literally the building block for their entire schooling career, and I did not want to make the wrong decision.

 

The girls were born on Christmas Eve, so with their birthdays happening a mere 7 days before the end of the year, the one question that has always haunted me is do I hold them back so they start the year the same age as what the children in their class will be turning. Or do I send them to school a year younger than the majority of the children in their class?

 

So, we armed ourselves with knowledge and expertise from their current teachers as well as future teachers. The girls also had a day at their new schools last year in November for the teachers to do an assessment and after meetings with the teachers and principal, we have all agreed the girls are ready to start Grade R this year. This means they will be turning the same age as the rest of the class, even though it will only be much later in the year.

 

Yes, it is still too soon to say if this is the right decision or not, or if they will be ok not only in Grade R but in Matric. I have however come to terms with the fact that as of now they are ready, and I am trusting my gut as their mom and following and entrusting my girls on their journey. I know that if at any point there are any red flags we will address them the same way we would if they had birthdays at any other time of the year.

 

My mom-heart is a whirlwind of emotions – excitement, pride, anxiety, and just a hint of nostalgia for the days when their biggest concern was which rainbow shorts and unicorn top can they wear to school.

 

The sheer thought of them in their big girl uniforms, backpacks almost as big as they are, overwhelms me with emotion. It's a transition that tugs at my heartstrings, a bittersweet melody of watching them spread their wings while yearning to keep them close and safe.


The Montessori, with its homey corners and familiar faces, has been our haven for the past few years. I can't help but reflect on the countless art projects, giggles, and excited drop-offs that have woven the fabric of our schooling adventure. It is an emotional transition, and I have realized that acknowledging the sentimental value is the first step.

 

Preparing my girls for their first official school year is a journey, and I'm diving in with a mix of checklists, emotions, and a whole lot of love.

 

1.       The Perfect Uniforms: There's something magical about those uniforms hanging in their closet. The crispness of the fabric, the neatly embroidered school logo – it's a tangible symbol of their journey into the world of education. Choosing their uniforms didn’t feel real – going to the same school uniform store that my mom took me to all my years in school was surreal, to say the least. How are we even here already?

I made sure to not buy them school uniforms that are so big they are drowning in them, but still comfortable enough for them to be in for most of their day. I have made sure they have 3 shorts and 3 shirts each so I have one spare and one to use while I wash one – you just never know.


2.       Labeling, Labeling, Labeling: Anyone who knows me knows how much I love stationery. I have always pictured going school stationery shopping for my children, with my list in hand and hunting for everything on the list. Let’s just say I am grateful for how organised this process is now and all I had to do was send my list to the store and collect their fully packed boxes 10 days later.

 

My next ultimate favourite thing… labelling. Now I have to admit I have a Cricut so I was fully capable of doing this myself but when I saw how beautiful Labels4School is I opted for their colourful and beautiful labels. What would’ve taken me much longer to do, took me 5 minutes to pick and personalise online and a few days later got a full pack of labels ready for me to stick.

The girls each picked their favourite sticker theme and font and I was quite surprised they chose the same ones; they are usually very specific when it comes to patterns and colours. I got each of them a Colour Starter Pack - Designer themes that come with up to 153 name labels, perfect for stationery, lunch boxes, juice/ water bottles, clothing, and anything else you can think of. Their sticky colour labels are waterproof, dishwasher safe and microwave resistant.


 

3.       Bags Packed with Love: The days of colourful unicorn-themed backpacks are behind us and uniformed navy-blue bags that are almost as tall as them are now taking their place. Deciding between a normal backpack and one on wheels was a no-brainer for me, so we opted for wheels just to make carting these bags around a little more fun and easier.

I bought the girls their Crunch Lunchboxes and bags when they first started at their Montessori in October 2021, and they are still perfect. Each year I just get a new sticker for the front of their Crunch boxes to make it fresh and exciting—quite literally my best investment. We have two of their favourite water bottles.

Packing their bags this year will not just be about fitting in spare clothes and lunch boxes. Each day they got home from school these past few years there was always a special picture or drawing or treasure for me, and I will be doing the same for them. I am not going to over-commit and say I will do it each day, but I will be slipping in a picture I drew for them with our favourite hearts, and maybe a secret surprise tucked away for a tough day. Something I want to do is put a small family photo into their bags, a small way for their backpacks to become a piece of home they could carry with them. I can’t wait for all the treasures they'll bring home – crumpled drawings, tales of new friends, and the occasional ‘treasure’ leaf or pebble they deem extra special.

 

4.       Routines: The morning hustle is about to get real, their previous school was only 3 minutes from home and their new school is around 15-20 minutes so it will without a doubt take some getting used to. I hate them feeling rushed and flustered in the mornings so making sure we keep our bedtime routines and having their clothes laid out and ready each morning is something I will always maintain. Creating a sense of predictability and routine helps them feel secure as they step into the unknown, and something we have always done is keep a level of routine in our house. It helps my sanity, which helps our home.


5.     Heart-to-Heart Talks: Something I have always done with the girls is have a level of preparation. I like to talk about things to them and prepare them in advance. Our bedtime chats are always extra special and I just feel like they connect so much more with everything I say when we lie together and chat. Even though they do understand they won’t be going to the same school anymore I don’t think they fully comprehend it so this is something we have been talking about at random through the December holidays. They got to go to the school this week to see their teacher and class and I am so happy they could do that as I have already seen how much it helped them and give them a sense of what they are walking into tomorrow.


I find myself caught in a whirlwind of bags, crayons, and tiny uniforms. But amidst the chaos, there's an overwhelming sense of joy and pride. My twins are not just getting ready for Grade R; they're stepping into a world of possibilities, armed with backpacks filled not just with supplies, but with the love, encouragement, and support that will carry them through this incredible adventure called education. Here's to Grade R – may it be a year of laughter, learning, and endless discovery for my two little explorers.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page