top of page

That sensitive topic...

I think this is definitely a European thing, maybe more specifically a Portuguese thing. But when we have a party or function, so for a birthday, wedding, shower, baptism - we have a big function. I need to emphasize BIG here. It's not just a small little get together with no fluff and hassle and super chilled. We do these big over the top functions.


The pressure and anxiety I had about this I can't begin to tell you. How do I cater and make a function beautiful for over 90 people, yes that is correct 90 people? How do I do all of this and work and be a mamma? How are the girls going to cope with all these people and that overstimulation and an overwhelming feeling of people around them? How am I going to cope with all these people and that overwhelming feeling of people around me?


It's the pressure of knowing everyone is wondering what is the event going to look like etc. it's that expectation that was making me so anxious.


Ultimately what was I going to do, my girls were going to get baptized, (the when part was never important to me, and I wanted to wait until they were a little older than what others may deem the correct age), this was a small part because of them and a far greater portion because of me.


At the end though, despite any way I may or may not have been feeling, it was such a beautiful and special day. The girls were so good, they were so well behaved in church and were so much better with all the people around than I thought they would be. Don't get me wrong, they were the most mamma-fussed they have ever been and I probably only had 10 min the entire day that I didn't have one or both of them on me.

(Those two pee breaks that you make last just to get some me-time.)


The service was absolutely beautiful and so special. Something I will really cherish and hold close to my heart always. I was speaking to one of my cousins during the planning stage and she said to me if there is one thing you have to spend on (even if its to sacrifice something else) you spend on a photographer. In the past, I never agreed with this. But oh my gosh I am so so grateful for her and for telling me this because I didn't take any pics of the day and the only photos I have, barring maybe 10 that were taken by some family, is all the pictures I have to remember and look back on that day.


Both my husband and I were baptized and confirmed and the same goes for my brother and his sister, with their significant others, who we asked to be the girls' Godparents. In saying that though, we don't go to church every Sunday, we, to be honest, don't go to church at all. But I believe in my heart that the personal relationship I have with God, though it may not be something many approve of or possibly agree to be enough, is one I cherish.


I hold Him close in my heart and soul every day. I talk to Him a lot in my head throughout the day and for many reasons. Lately, more than ever to say thank you for blessing me with my baby girls but also in the same breath to give me the strength each and every day to be the best mamma I can be to them.


I think the reason I find I need to explain this, is because, although I may not be the one that always goes to church or reads the Bible every day. I do believe, and I do have my own relationship with God and I will teach my daughters everything they need to know, but I will encourage them to celebrate their faith in the way they feel the most comfortable and will support them in whatever way they choose.


I wanted to share with you some of my favourite pics from the Baptism. I used Finding Light Photography, and let me just tell you that Camilla is just stunning and I couldn't have asked for more perfect memories to keep forever and show the girls one day.



Then for anyone who is interested wanted to share my suppliers with you:


The beautiful flower arrangements - The incredibly talented Nathalie from Blush

The wooden trestle tables - Seating Plan

The Girls' Baptism Dresses - Everli Baby

The Girls' gorgeous Ballerina pumps - The Jake & Isla Collection

The Girls' Headbands - Bambi & Kids


xx

61 views0 comments
bottom of page