top of page

Lesson learnt...

Updated: Jun 2, 2019

I have to start this by saying I F&%$ing HATE vaccinations and I find myself wondering do they do more good than harm?


I'm sorry I know its hottly debated but really we are basically injecting a virus into these tiny little bodies, I get that it's supposed to help build their immune system but wow the side affects are not cool.


I am so far behind with the girls' vaccinations because after their 10 week vaccination that is when Gisela landed up in hospital for 5 days and completely scared me and tainted my whole few on vaccinations. Then after that, they have had a few bouts of flu and sniffles so again wouldn't take them until I knew all the germs were gone.


So this week Wednesday, I took the girls for their 14 week vaccinations, yip the one that they have to be jabbed twice, one on each thigh and then have this awful liquid to swallow that makes them want to vomit.


I am not sure if they just older now so they more aware of the jabs and the pain or if they really just didn't react well to the meds this time. Both of them screamed hysterically after the jabs and were pretty much inconsolable. You know that cry that actually pulls at your heart strings, the cry that says "Mom how could you let them do this to me?". Yea, that one, the one that fills you with guilt.


Then the wonderful mother that I am - didn't even pack a bottle for them. The sister asked me if I had the bottle to give to them to soothe them and I had to say, "no I completely forgot.". How awful that I could even forget something like that. My nappy bag is usually packed for 7 different scenarios and yet this incredibly traumatic and important occasion I don't even pack the most important element - comfort food.


I have never heard them scream and cry like that before. Gisela eventually passed out from exhaustion in the car, but Alaia screamed more and more and more the entire way home.


To say I am beyond disappointed in myself would be an understatement. Yes I have learnt my lesson and trust me when I say that will NEVER happen again. But you can't help but punish yourself over and over again for not having something there that would give them some comfort.


They seemed okay after their bottle and had a little sleep and I was quite relieved to see they were reacting quite well. But by 4pm that evening they were not themselves and it was all down hill from there. By about 7pm my poor little Alaia got so ill she was even pale and completely lethargic was so awful - we called the paed worried something was wrong, but she told us to give her a warm bath and a suppository which worked so well and she started getting her colour back quite soon.


They didn't sleep well at all and battled the entire night with fevers and crying and just being completely uncomfortable and uneasy.


Now 4 days later, the side effects are only just starting to level out again and they starting to sleep better again.


Is it only me or are these vaccinations just awful?

42 views0 comments
bottom of page