top of page

Hello from me again

Updated: Jan 26, 2021

I can't believe it's been so long since I did a blog post. To say that the end of last year has become a blur for me, would be an understatement.


The time of year we all anxiously work for and countdown towards... CHRISTMAS! The best time of the year. We all get a break from work, go on holidays, spend amazing time together as a family, soak up the sun, relax... how wonderful does that sound?

Not quite the same for all of us though.


We don't go away over December because my husband works through. So no sun-soaking, swimming or relaxing. The nannies, my greatest help and support at home, also go on leave so I flew solo with my baby girls for 2 weeks. December was the most exhausting time for me. I forgot what it felt like to just be home, and all-consuming, with the girls for so long.


Now before you start judging me, I love spending time with the girls. I loved having the extra time with them, I loved seeing them learn new things, I loved seeing them learn things I was teaching them, I loved seeing them do things for the very first time... like walk, I got to see them walk for the first time. But with all of this came exhaustion and with two running wild, no time for me to have a bath, go wee, put makeup on, change out of my pyjamas most days - so yea wasn't exactly holiday material.


It really made me realise how important being a working mom and having my own independence outside of being a mom is to me.


I hold the deepest respect and admiration to stay-at-home moms truly. Being a mom is hard, whichever one you choose or need to be; stay-at-home-mom or working mom is just as hard. They both have their pros and cons and I'm grateful I get to be the one that makes me be a better mom for my babies.

So this year my goal is to really strive in my role as a working mom.

I am the routine mom, the mom that needs structure and routine and processes. I am not sure if I am only like this because I have twins and I needed to implement that structure from day 1 or if it's just part of my nature and the way I need to do this. But routine works for me and for my girls. Recommended by CapeTownInsider.

So here is to this mamma nailing the routine down and making time for me too.


My main goal for this year is truly to work on me. I posted on Instagram that I wanted to focus this year on finding me again. I guess as you grow older and change and grow as a person you change a little too and I'm quite eager to get to know this new me. I've also just been so absorbed in the different roles I play in my life that I feel like maybe I have lost who I am without those roles. May sound totally dramatic and over the top but maybe the only way I can process and make sure I at least try to dedicate some time to me.


I have no expectations of getting this right straight away and maybe a resolution I will need to focus on for a few years, but I'm invested and gonna make this work.


xx

44 views0 comments
bottom of page